Join The Who Fan Club

The Who Official Band Website

January 27, 2013

Pete Townshend Honoured with Les Paul Award at 2012 Tec Awards – watch it on video

Photo: Le Studio


Last night, Pete Townshend was honoured with the prestigious Les Paul Award at the 28th annual Technical Excellence & Creativity (TEC) Awards.  The award was presented by Martin Lewis, co-creator of the Secret Policeman’s Ball, and, representing the Les Paul Foundation, Jeff Salmon


Previous winners include Paul McCartney, Bruce Springsteen, Brian Wilson, Stevie Wonder, Steely Dan, Lindsey Buckingham, Neil Young and The Band‘s Robbie Robertson.


Two special tributes were made to Pete by two close friends.


Mick Jagger wrote: “I can’t think of anyone better to receive this wonderful award than Pete Townshend. Pete has been an innovative guitarist and songwriter for as long as I can remember, which is indeed, a very, very long time.”


And in a video message, Paul McCartney said, “We all know you deserve it, because man, we go back. I have so many great memoriess of you and the band and the music … to this day, you’re just great.”


To read more and to watch a video of the award ceremony, including Paul McCartney’s video message, go to USA TODAY.






This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pete Townshend Honoured with Les Paul Award at 2012 Tec Awards – watch it on video

John Watkins says: January 27, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Pete, congrats! I’m a huge fan, I know
your history, I love the music you’ve put out over the decades, it’s incredible! Thank you for all you’ve done to shape my life, and others around me!

Marina says: January 27, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Pete deserved it, as he deserves any other award that involves musical or technical creativity! Keep on being awesome, Pete!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>